Your browser is not supported. Please update it.
Moortown Golf ClubMoortown

Major Championships

A perusal of the list of tournaments held at Moortown indicates the range of events, which have been staged over the years. The Championships fall into two main categories, the Amateur Competitions both National and County and the Professional Tournaments, which include the original Yorkshire Evening News Tournament, the Ryder Cup and P.G.A. Tour Events.

Amongst the many notable Amateur winners was Michael Bonallack who won the English Amateur Championship in 1962 and again shared the honours in the 1968 Brabazon Trophy with Rodney Foster.

Amateur Championship Winners

Yorkshire Amateur Championship1926N.W. Dunn
Yorkshire Amateur Championship1930J. Robinson
Boys’ Amateur Championship1934R.S. Burles
English Amateur Championship1938J.J. Pennink
English County Championship1938Staffordshire
Yorkshire Amateur Championship1939S.E. Banks
English Ladies’ Championship1955Mrs. R. S. Stevens
Brabazon Trophy1957D. Sewell
Boys’ Amateur Championship1958R. Bradden
English Amateur Championship1962M.F. Bonallack
Boys’ Amateur Championship1966A.A. Phillips
Brabazon Trophy1968R. Foster / M.F. Bonallack
Boys’ Amateur Championship1972G. Harvey
Brabazon Trophy1974N. Sundelson
Seniors’ Open Championship1974M.I. Ivor-Jones
Ladies’ Home Internationals1978England
English Amateur Championship1980P. Deeble
Ladies’ British Amateur Open Strokeplay1983Miss A. Nicholas
Seniors’ Open Championship1989C. Green
English Mid-Amateur Championship1989A. Mew
English Amateur Championship1994M. Foster
English Mid-Amateur Championship1989A. Mew
Brabazon Trophy1999M. Side
Boys Home Internationals2001England
ELGA County Finals2001Yorkshire
English v Irish Senior Ladies2002England
Tillman Trophy2003J.T. Smith
Yorkshire Amateur Championship2007D.J. Willett
Brabazon Trophy2009N. Kearney
100th Leeds Cup2015G. Houston
Ladies’ British Amateur Open Strokeplay2015Miss A. Ashok
Yorkshire Amateur Championship2016B. Hutchinson
Men’s Home Internationals2017Ireland

Yorkshire Evening News

From 1925 to 1962 Moortown regularly hosted the Yorkshire Evening News Professional Tournament. One of Moortown’s members, who worked for the Yorkshire Evening News, Kolin Roberston was instrumental in both attracting and organising these tournaments. Kolin was a single-figure handicap golfer with a world-wide reputation as a golf writer. He was largely responsible for bringing the Ryder Cup Match to Moortown in 1929.

In 1932 the event was spread over five days (Tuesday to Saturday) and attracted 3,940 spectators with a total gate of £197. The Club made a gross profit from the event of £88 8s 6d. Winners of the tournament included:

1926C.A. Whitcombe
1928C.A. Whitcombe
1929J. Turnesa (U.S.A)
1925L. Holland
1932B. Hodson
1934A.H. Padgham
1937A.J. Lacey
1945A. Compston
1946A.D. Locke (S.A)
1947H. Cotton / N. Von Nida
1948C.H. Ward
1949S.L. King

Profesional Events

Following the successful Evening News tournaments, Moortown hosted the Silent Night Trophy in 1965, which produced a tied result with Dave Thomas and Jimmy Martin.


In 1976 Rank Xerox sponsored the PGA Cup Match between Great Britain and Ireland versus United States of America, which was won by the U.S. team.

Haig Whisky – European Tour Event

In 1980 Haig Whisky sponsored the Tournament Players Championship which was won by Bernard Gallagher from Severiano Ballesteros who hit an over zealous approach shot to the 18th Green when his ball cleared green, spectators, bushes and trees and finished on the Putting Green.

Open Championship Regional Qualifying Venue

In conjunction with the R&A, Moortown has hosted the Open Championship Qualifying Round on multiple occasions, most recently in 2016.

PGA Professionals Championship

In 2008 the club played host to the Glenmuir PGA Professionals Championship won by Paul Simpson of the West Berkshire Golf Club.

Car Care

From 1984 to 1986 the Car Care Group brought their sponsored PGA Tour Event to Moortown and Moortown had the opportunity of seeing all the leading European players in action. The Car Care Trophy was won in 1984 by Nick Faldo, in 1985 by David J Russell and in 1986 by Mark Mouland.